Poster – Illicit Trade

So after the brief, I came up with a few ideas. The topic I chose was basically changing the places of humans and the animals traded.

Brainstorm:

brnstrm

Sketches:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

To finish off the concept, I had to look up pictures of furniture made with human skin. While looking around I found a series of furniture made to look like it uses human skin, inspired by the serial killer Ed Gein.

Link: https://uniquehunters.com/shocking-human-skin-furniture-inspired-by-ed-gein-can-be-yours-gross/

After browsing around, I decided to use this picture:

human-skin-furniture-12

After that, I selected the lamp alone using Pen tool in Photoshop.

Getting a rendered image, I added a background color and a shadow. Here’s my first rendition:

screen-shot-2017-01-19-at-10-51-51-pm

I was then advised to give it a background (living room), which I did, using this as the background:

screen-shot-2017-01-19-at-10-50-43-pm

I added the lamp in the empty space:

screen-shot-2017-01-19-at-10-52-19-pm

Then I was asked to delete the sentence at the bottom:

screen-shot-2017-01-19-at-10-52-27-pm

And since now the focal point isn’t quite clear, this is the final product, after everything is edited:

screen-shot-2017-01-19-at-10-52-33-pm


After we finished this and presented them, we were asked to make a PSA out of a topic of our choosing. I chose to do one about public transport since many don’t use public transport here in Jakarta.

For this, I made a survey using surveymonkey.com

Here are my results:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Here is my creative brief:

transjakarta-psa-creative-brief

I made these posters at first:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After QC sessions and people telling me that the poster is still unclear, I changed a few things to end up with this:

screen-shot-2016-11-20-at-10-17-42-pm

The pictures weren’t that good yet and the words were too small, so it changed to the final product:

PSA public transport 3.jpg

psa-public-transport-billboardpsa-public-transport-bus-stop

This final poster revision was made after QC session in class and comments from Hightail.

Leave a Reply

