Poetry in Motion

For this assignment, we had to choose a poem that we liked and use type (fonts only) to create a layout that conveys the meaning of the poem. I chose an untitled poem by Masaok Shiki:

Night; and once again,

The while I wait for you, cold wind

Turns into rain

This poem has a really lonely feeling to me and I wanted to try and make a nice layout for that. So for this, after the hundred sketches we had to do, I decided to appeal to younger kids and I made an illustration out of the text. Since no distortion of text was allowed, I made a cloud outline using the pen tool in AI and typed on the path. I typed everything on this except for the word “rain”. I made this word fall down like Rain and in different sizes since rain doesn’t fall all at the same time. Here is a picture of the final rendition:

Screen Shot 2016-09-30 at 11.44.40 PM.png

This layout I got after the QC sessions in class. I had other layouts as well so here are pictures of those:

Leave a Reply

