Happiness Project

For the last weeks of this class, we made the last project, the Happiness Project. I decided to compile all this into one post so I can start and finish here.

So for this project, we first interviewed a lot of people and how we did this was pretty fun. The whole batch took out A3 papers and brought it all around the building, asking people to write down on the paper what makes them happy. We got data from almost everyone, teachers and students alike.

After analyzing the data on that, I had to define what happiness is to me. To sum it up in five words:

“Happiness is the little things”

From here we had to design a few things:

  1. Poster
  2. T-shirt
  3. Sticker
  4. IPhone App UI
  1. So for this, I decided the background of my poster would be black and the typefaces would be colorful or neon. So, I started looking for typefaces that could fit, but I decided that if I found typefaces online then it wouldn’t be unique enough, not as unique as my definition of happiness (since everyone has a different answer for that). So I made my own typeface. It’s a very geometric typeface, which would influence everything else later throughout the project. So, my typeface has thicker sections, almost block like. I filled this up with the little things that make me happy (I made a path with pen tool and typed in the little things that make me happy). The typeface I used for that was Avenir Next Ultra Light, because it is a very thin and refined typeface. I used this because it’s small, so it literally is perfect for it. I then wrote on the bottom:

 

“Happiness is the #LittleThings that make your world Glow Brighter”

 

I made little things a hash tag because it is the name of my application. This text was typed in Anders, a geometrical font that fits well with mine. So, after changing a few things and finding a good print shop that can print out the colors on black without a problem, here is the final rendition:

Screen Shot 2016-09-30 at 11.52.54 PM.png

 

  1. For the shirt, I had many designs in mind, but none of them really matched my poster. Here are pictures of my earlier renditions:

 

Then, I decided to just take the words from the poster and resize it. So here’s my final design:

Front:

Screen Shot 2016-09-30 at 11.53.32 PM.png

Back:

Screen Shot 2016-09-30 at 11.53.37 PM.png

 

  1. The stickers are similar to the shirts and only differ in placement. I decided on four final designs. Here are the final designs:

 

  1. For the app, I actually had a hard time deciding what it would be, but finally decided on an app that can be used to chat, find places to eat, watch, listen to music, find gyms and also be used as a GPS. An all in one app. I chose the things that make me happiest and put them in the app. The app has a minimalistic design and uses the Anders font. Here, instead of customizing your profile picture, you can customize your profile font. Here is a picture of my app:

Screen Shot 2016-09-30 at 11.59.25 PM.png

Leave a Reply

