KouZai

So, our project was to create a character that reflects us, in a way, a self portrait. So, as soon as I got the brief, I sketched a few designs of random shapes and expressions based off of the moodboard we made in class. Here is the moodboad:

These moodoards were just a baseline of what I wanted to make. The sketches I made were pretty similar at first and there was at least 1 I was happy with, but it still wasn’t good enough for me. I decided to keep sketching and found a sketch I like. Here are my first sketches:

myhome_3Its not clear, but there are 6 characters on it. I decided that I did not quite like any of it and kept sketching till I found one I liked.

Here is the sketch:

myhome_4.jpg

So then I traced the main body and expression onto AI and made this:

Screen Shot 2016-07-31 at 6.42.38 PM

After I made this, I decided that I should make another character which can become a stark contrast to this one, so I made the classic angel devil duo:

Screen Shot 2016-07-31 at 6.45.38 PM.png

I named them Kou and Zai as I thought I could make it interesting to have the devil named Kou (light) as opposed to the angel being named Zai (evil/darkness). This shows how sometimes, I hide my feelings and try not to show it to anyone (this is a self promoting character after all…). So then I experimented with the colours:

Screen Shot 2016-07-31 at 7.12.52 PM.png

After trying to decide which colours I should use, I decided (after asking around and getting different answers) to just use all of them. Sofor the postcards and desktop picture, all the colours will differ.

Leave a Reply

